The Episcopal Church in Connecticut

As an Episcopal Church we are part of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut or ECCT (Link: Diocese of Connecticut). The Bishop of Ct. is the Rt. Rev. Dr. Ian Douglas. Our Suffragan (assisting) Bishop is The Rt. Rev. Dr. Laura Ahrens. We are part of  The Episcopal Church USA (ECUSA). Our leader is the “Presiding Bishop”, the Rt. Rev. Michael Curry. The pastor of our local church is Dave Carter whose title is “Rector” an old English term for the priest-in-charge of a parish. It’s also important to note that the “Doctrine” of the Episcopal Church is very loosely defined as expressed in our Prayer Book (for instance in the Nicene Creed) and in the practice of our members (the priesthood of all believers) rather than in a separate codified text.

We are part of an international collective of churches often called “Anglican”. Anglicanism is a term used to designate all the churches around the world that stay “in-communion” with the Church of England, the original Anglican Church. All such national bodies were once formed by transplanted English speakers but have now found their own identities, styles and to some extent somewhat differing theologies.